38. 1980s Farm Crisis, Roundtable #3


Manage episode 347845694 series 3324850
Af Center for Rural Affairs. Opdaget af Player FM og vores brugere – copyright tilhører udgiveren, ikke Player FM, og lyden streames direkte fra deres servere. Tryk på Abonner-knappen for at få opdateringer i Player FM, eller kopier URL'en til en anden podcast-app.

In the final episode of our limited series podcast, our host Ron Kroese moderates a discussion on the 1980s farm crisis.

This is a continuation of the roundtable discussion from the last two episodes. Each individual played an important role in the work of National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition (NSAC) and its predecessor efforts.

During the first week, we focused on the formation, development, and accomplishments of NSAC over the past three decades, through 5 farm bills and 27 appropriation bills. Last week, we focused on successes, challenges, and took a deeper look at the organization. This week, participants also share stories about those who made an impact on sustainable agriculture policy along the way.

Discussion participants and their positions and locations at the time of the interview include:

  • Fred Kirschenmann: affiliated with the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture at Iowa State University, and also the Stone Barn Center for Food and Agriculture in New York. Lives in Ames, Iowa.
  • Ann Robinson: Midwest regional office director for the National Center for Appropriate Technology. Located in Des Moines, Iowa.
  • Michael Sligh: with the Rural Advancement Foundation International in Pittsboro, North Carolina.
  • Chuck Hassebrook: Formerly with the Center for Rural Affairs in Nebraska.
  • Mary Fund: with the Kansas Rural Center and also a certified organic farmer.
  • Ferd Hoefner: policy director for the National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition in Washington, D.C.
  • Margaret Krome: policy director for the Michael Fields Agricultural Institute in East Troy, Wisconsin.
  • Frances Thicke: farmer from southeast Iowa. Owns and operates an organic dairy farm, processes milk on the farm and markets it all locally.
  • Amy Little: policy director for the Northeast Sustainable Agriculture Working Group.
  • Duane Sand: on the staff of Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation, Des Moines, Iowa.
  • Teresa Opheim: with Practical Farmers of Iowa. Located in Ames, Iowa.
  • Duane Havorka: executive director of the Nebraska Wildlife Federation. Lives near Elmwood, Nebraska.

The roundtable was conducted on Aug. 2, 2015.

Link this episode:

National Sustainable Agriculture Oral History Archive (video link)


Liked this show? SUBSCRIBE to this podcast on Spotify, Audible, Apple, Google, and more. Catch past episodes, a transcript, and show notes at cfra.org/SustainbleAgPodcast.

39 episoder